Amazon Book Reviews

The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress: An Unabridged Re-telling of John Bunyan’s Immortal Classic

And

The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress: Part II – Christiana
An Unabridged Re-telling of John Bunyan’s Immortal Classic

by Jim Pappas

Top positive review

5.0 out of 5 starsThis is an old classic 1600’s that everyone should read …By P. S.on October 28, 2015

This is an old classic 1600’s that everyone should read, it’s written as a allegory. The city of Destruction is or life before Christ and it shows us, trials, temptations, false teachers that we have to deal with through our journey through life. We are not to take our eyes off of Jesus Christ (that Celestial City light mentioned in the book)
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 starsEye opener!!!
By Miloon June 7, 2016
If this book does not make you want to do a self examination of your walk with Christ you need to go back and read it again. Now I ask myself, what progress have I made today in Christ?
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 stars Looses none of the insights, easiest to read that I’ve ever had.
Byvon July 22, 2014

This is the BEST version I have EVER read, and I have had several versions. It is easy to understand, and looses none of the insights/lessons that other easy-to-understand versions lost in the translation. It is wonderful, as is its sequel Christiana – tho both seem hard to find except in Amazon. Thanks Amazon !!!
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 starsThrilled to find 5 with one order
ByKdNagelon May 30, 2015

Thrilled to get 5 of them. Tried to order them 2 years ago but was unable to find this particular printing. I already had one but have had it 10 yrs or so. Great book. Everyone should read this author.
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 stars Onward Christian Pilgrim
By R. Jon December 9, 2013

Great telling of a mans trials and obstacles through life with temptations along the way to find his way to the eternal gate of heaven. Very good story with lots of Bible verses intermixed in the story.
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 stars Pilgrim’s Progress
By Joy Con June 1, 2013

This is the easiest to read format of this story I’ve found, that still retains the original flavor of the language. A wonderful book with a wonderful message, fun to read, holds kids’ attention, but still sounds like John Bunyan!
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, easy to read
By Bonsumon August 17, 2014

Great story, easy to read. The old language has been updated so it is easy to understand. Makes a great bedtime story book for kids and adults.
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
By mike ryanon January 27, 2015

MANDATORY reading for anyone of faith. I can’t believe how little people know about this book.
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 starsFive Stars
By Dan Joneson January 21, 2016

Best book ever
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 stars Totally recommend this version of this classic
By Franck Tingueon November 14, 2013

Pilgrim’s Progress is a great book I really love this Amplified version its a great read. I totally recommend it.
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 starsA Powerful, Life-changing Book
By Sarah Brown on January 24, 2015

How many of you tried reading Pilgrim’s Progress as youngster and gave up because you couldn’t understand the Old English script? I did. Well here is retelling of that ancient allegory in a simple, dialogical style even small children can enjoy, while still maintaining the powerful message of the original–a message that will challenge, encourage, and spiritually strengthen young and old alike.

While the script style of Bunyan’s original Pilgrim’s Progress was difficult to follow, the dialogical style of Pappas’ amplification makes this story an engaging read for anyone. As an author myself, I have learned the power that dialogue has for holding a reader’s attention. And for all you fellow teachers out there, you know as well as I that you can hold your students interest much better when you make your lessons conversational rather than one-sided lectures. The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress has the same power, attained through the use of a flowing storyline and dialogue in place of monologue. No matter your age, you will find The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress difficult to put down!

However, don’t mistakenly assume that this story is cheap, page-turning thriller. Far from it! This story contains powerful, life-changing messages! You will never be the same again after reading this story! Whether you are a brand new Christian or a well-grounded, fifth-generation preacher’s kid, you will be challenged, inspired, convicted, and empowered by the messages of this book. It truly contains the pure gospel, untainted by worldly philosophies or watered-down “Christianity.” This book presents what I like to call the “forgotten gospel.” Two of the most important truths I gleaned from this book are 1) The danger of straying from the straight and narrow path and 2) The power contained in the word of God. Many Christians today think that Salvation is merely praying the “sinner’s prayer” and then “trying” to be good. “All you need to do is believe in Jesus,” they say without realizing what that truly means. I have thought and said the same myself. This book will open your eyes–as it did mine–to the true beauty and power of the Plan of Salvation. We do not need to be caught in the trap of trying to work our way to heaven! This does not mean that we can throw out God’s law or His high standards. To do so would be to depart from the narrow way God has mapped out for us. As Christian learns in this story, the narrow contains many trials, hardships, and strict guidelines. Yet, as I stated previously, to say that we Christians must walk this path on our own is to go to the opposite extreme. This is where the other powerful component comes is: God’s Word. As Christian travels the narrow way, he comes to realize the power contained in God’s Word–power to overcome sin, to fight back evil agencies, and to gain the heavenly kingdom. Never is Christian able to succeed when he relies upon his own strength, and neither can we. But, without fail he becomes marvelously and miraculously victorious when he claims the promises of God’s Word. This is what walking by faith is. THIS is true belief! This is allowing the grace of Christ and His love and presence in our hearts to transform our earthly lives. This is the “forgotten gospel.”

I pray that you will read The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress, and allow it to change your life, as it did mine.
~Sarah E. Brown (Author & Educator)
www.sarahellenbrown.com
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 stars“. . . most adventure-filled. . . version published today
By Midwest Book Review on August 17, 1999

Jim Pappas’ adaption of Bunyan’s timeless classic is the most adventure-filled and reader-friendly modern version published today. The work is totally unabridged and (excepting certain amplified scenes) remains strictly adherent to Bunyan’s original storyline. In it we are treated to exciting new levels of love and joy, hope and humor, all skillfully woven and designed to accurately present Bunyan’s spellbinding, inspirational masterpiece of angels and giants, castles and dragons to the modern reader.
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 starsAn Unabridged Adaptation of John Bunyan’s Memorable Classic
By Richard R. Blake VINE VOICE on August 23, 2012

Even after four centuries John Bunyan’s “Pilgrim’s Progress” continues to retain a high ranking and significant readership in classic literature. “The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress” sheds light and clarity on the spiritual riches of the original masterpiece. James Pappas Jr. combines modern language with patterns of speech of Bunyan’s classic writing.

Pappas’ adaptation adds a new dimension of adventure and humor by amplifying selected passages; however he takes care to preserve the powerful impact, beauty, and message of Bunyan’s unabridged storyline. Pappas uses his skills as a storyteller to introduce a new generation to the message of love, joy, and hope of Bunyan’s classic masterpiece by zeroing in on the fascination with angels and supernatural beings that intrigue young fantasy readers of today.

Memorable original illustrations faithfully depict the picturesque word pictures describing the familiar Wicket Gate, the Slough of Despond, Vanity Fair, the land of Beulah, and many other places Christian passes through along the way. Other illustrations picture the characters, testing, and conflict that confront him throughout his journey.

The life changing potential of “The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress” makes this an important book for shared family reading, a must for Christian School and Church libraries, and an important classic for every home-schooler’s reading list.

A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
______________________________________________________________

5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic American Masterpiece
By golden manon April 30, 2013

The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress is an unabridged retelling of John Bunyan’s immortal classic. This book is trully an American masterpiece, full of gems and shining light from the throne of heaven to the mortals below. Jim Pappas rewrote this without altering the original intent and with careful reverence. Jim Pappas, the admiring adapter, sees himself meeting John Bunyan in heaven. How cool is that! Me too!

I was shocked at how contemporary the message applies to this hour. This could have been written last week! This is a story about a man named Graceless, who lived in a city called Destruction. He meets a man called Evangelist, makes a decision to follow the straight and narrow path to find the Celestial City, and meets many obstacles and colorful people along the way. Graceless had to leave family and home not knowing where he was going or how he could get there. Like Abraham, he had to walk each day on the light he was given.

He meets Shining One, who tells him to walk by faith believing, not by feelings, as do the brute beasts. Graceless, the pilgrim, is given a new name, Christian. He crosses the path of lions, testing his commitment to The Word of God above his senses. He meets three women, Piety, Charity, and Prudence, who point out the lions are toothless and de-clawed! So it is that Christian will find with all the obstacles and devious plans and traps laid before him, they are all ‘toothless and de-clawed.’ He meets Watchful, who admonishes Christian to remember the things he has been shown. Christian must walk down into the Valley of Humility, going by way of the backside of Difficulty . He meets wonderful traveling companions called Hopeful and Faithful. Traveling through a place called Vanity, they find great persecution. They are brought before a judge named Lord Hate Good and presented to a jury with men of names of the likes of : Mr. Blindman, Mr. No-Good, Mr. Malice, Mr. Cruelty, Mr. Hate-Light, and Mr. Implacable. Faithful was tortured and martyred. Faithful died while praising God. Christian and Hopeful continue on, but stray from the appointed path and find themselves in the land of Doubt, prisoners of a giant named Despair. They are beaten and tortured and threatened mercilessly, even given rope and a knife to commit suicide! Suddenly (I like the “suddenlies” in the Word) Christian remembers he has a key called Promise. The key grows or shrinks to fit EACH LOCK THEY ENCOUNTER until they escape from Despair. Dear Reader, do you have a key called Promise? Are you on the road to the Celestial City, the City of Zion? This is a book for eternity, a book that will be discussed in heaven. Why not read it now?
______________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amplified Masterpiece
By Beau M. Burton on August 31, 2012
Many from the erudite class often criticize modernized versions of classical works because they take away the “beauty, meaning, etc” of the original work. In my opinion, Pappas has done no such thing. In the book’s preface, Pappas graciously hopes that his retelling takes nothing from Bunyan’s work, but only makes it more accessible for today’s reader. If we are living a life of love and sharing the hope that we have in Christ to all man, criticizing someone for not understanding and enjoying archaic language simply cannot be justified.

I place this work in the top five books that have powerfully shaped my walk with Christ. Never before in my life have spiritual truths “come to life” as they do through Christian’s journey. I have been truly enlightened thanks to the work of the Holy Spirit through Mr. Bunyan and Mr. Pappas. I have highly recommended this book to family and friends, and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants a greater understanding of the believer’s walk down the narrow path that leads to Life.
______________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading!!! My life progress or digress!!!
By Charles W. Warner on December 18, 2015

I don’t think I have to say much here to convince people that Pilgrims Progress is an all time classic allegorical journey. Here we have Pilgrim/Christian fleeing the wrath to come, his journey and the many people he meets on the way on the path we call life…. This is really a telling of the road of life we all must travel and the joy and sorrow there in……

Deuteronomy 30:19 I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live:
______________________________________________________________


5.0 out of 5 stars The Unabridged Retelling of John Bunyan’s Immortal Classic
By Robert A. Burns on August 20, 2012

Many books written and published with the title ‘Pilgrim’s Progress’. This book however uses the New Amplified approach and it is just excellent.

Copied ‘from the back cover for YOU’ “Now in modern English comes The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress. All of the age-old treasurers that have made John Bunyan’s original the world’s best-selling non-biblical masterpiece in all history are now carried to new heights of power and clarity in the new enhanced version.”

Read and enjoy this. You might even consider using this book for a small group study.
______________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly well-adapted to “our times-” Great Family Reading
By A customer on September 4, 1999

We began the “Aloud” reading of this wonderful book in our home as daily family time, and our four children, ages 5-14, have been energetic in their enthusiasm over it. We splurged and purchased each of them their own copy since we take turns reading, and they guard their books well. Using modern-day terminology, Pappas’ Pilgrim’s Progress weaves an understandable, incredible journey. Even our five year old is entranced, and all are enriched as we discover and discuss the meanings of the players’ and places’ names. We keep the original version of Pilgrim’s Progress nearby and compare passages at times. Mr. Pappas’ rendition of this classic is superb. His amplifications really do enhance the journey of Christian, are not distracting, nor (important to me) do they take away from the original text. This is an heirloom edition, to be sure. We have also very, very much enjoyed the old-world graphics throughout the book as it lends to take us back to the era in which it was staged.
______________________________________________________________

Top critical review – (see rebuttals below this review)

1.0 out of 5 stars In Praise of the Original version by John Bunyan
By Gina Marie on January 25, 2003

In the beginning we were very excited because we felt like Mr. Pappas clarified some of the messages of Christians experiences. However, when we read comparatively with John Bunyans original we found several glaring exclusions, changes, and introductions of different theological ideas. John Bunyan was Reformed in his theology. This book takes a definite dispensational turn (a doctrine introduced only in the last 150 years and not scriptural). There is terminology inserted in this “amplified” version that makes the story even harder to understand, (i.e. The two witnesses; latter rain). The meaning of these two terms is debatable depending on denominational differences. Mr. Pappas also completely reversed the words in some instances, saying the exact opposite of what Bunyan said. (e.g. In the Second Stage, Bunyan says that God put the man in the cage-Pappas says that the man put himself in the cage.)

Part of the reason that Pilgrims Progress has faded out of favor is it’s reformed context, and most denominations have fallen into dispensationalism. If you aren’t familiar with what I am referring to then it is imperative that you seek out my meaning. Then, if you choose to remain of a dispensational mind this book is fine. But if you choose to keep to the reformed path, this version must be rejected.

I am very sorry to have to give this negative review, I was hoping to be pleasantly surprised by a new easier to understand version for my grandchildren.
______________________________________________________________

Rebuttals – AMC custome r7 months ago (Edited) In reply to an earlier post

I own this edition but am getting the Banner of Truth’s newest release of PP. I didn’t note any dispensationalism in Pappas’ version. But aside from that, John MacArthur’s soteriology and views of grace and God’s sovereignty are as reformed as you can get and yet he’s still dispensational. So, whatever errors Pappas has introduced in the book have nothing to do with dispensationalism.
tim can 9 years ago
______________________________________________________________

I would caution that I do not find your claim of dispensationalism to hold true. Too many elements of dispensationalism are missing or opposed in the adapted manuscript. There is no rapture, no real mention of Israel, only aluded to are other elements of dispensational and clear opposition to catholicism although not to cathlics individually. 

I suspect that you may be influenced to a degree by you own belief that most churches have abandoned the theology you hold to. There is nothing wrong in standing alone for the truth as you see it, but it has a tendancy to make one a little unbalanced and far to eager to see heresy in every slight dearture from our own views. Hence, I suspect you tend to paint with a very broad brush.
______________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 stars favorite book of all time!
By lori on December 30, 2012

This book was read for the first time when our boys were about 8 and 10.They might not have understood everything, but the style of writing made for a fun read aloud. We have read it several times individually and collectively since then. It is a favorite of our family. The lessons are thought provoking and creatively presented. We have given out about 30+ copies through the years as gifts. I only wish more families were raised with this classic!
______________________________________________________________
5.0 out of 5 starsEasy read…Just like the amplified Bible..
By Hazel M. Correll on March 1, 2003

If you have no desire to tackle the “old English” then this is the Pilgrim’s Progress for you. Everyone should read The Pilgrims Progress as well as Hinds Feet For High Places. We need to read the classics and this one is an easy read.

From Amazon Book Reviews

https://www.amazon.com/Pilgrims-Progress-Jim-Pappas/dp/0768420512/ref=pd_sim_b2b_2/130-5894162-0253149?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=0768420512&pd_rd_r=89d33baa-2cc5-4026-9528-75c5a3cfb6bf&pd_rd_w=hznhP&pd_rd_wg=EAA2p&pf_rd_p=a07701e4-f565-442a-b97f-93ab23cbb7ef&pf_rd_r=XDVEYF5VADD11QD5RTZ3&psc=1&refRID=XDVEYF5VADD11QD5RTZ3
______________________________________________________________

Book Reviews

The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress: Part II – Christiana

Sarah Brown

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Not a Carbon Copy at All!

Reviewed in the United States on February 1, 2015

Verified Purchase

If you are worried that “The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress Part 2 (Christiana)” might be a carbon copy of “The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress,” you needed fear. Though Christiana (Christian’s wife) and her children follow the same, narrow pathway toward the kingdom, their experiences are far from the same as Christian’s. They do indeed cover some of the same ground and meet a few of the same people and obstacles, but they meet them in different ways, and also meet many new and different challenges. I would have to say, though, that this book can stand alone but has far more impact if you read it after reading Pilgrim’s Progress.

One of the things I loved about this book is that it really gets you to thinking about the object lessons all around you. Of course, the book itself is an allegory, and almost every character in it and obstacles they overcome is an object lesson in an of itself. Yet, within the storyline of the allegory, the traveling pilgrim band learns to see object lessons everywhere, even in the common and mundane scenes and events of life. After reading in the book, I would go back to my everyday duties looking for those same sorts of object lessons. And I, too, would realize that they are everywhere, to be found in almost every aspect of our lives. Little “pictures” that God has put there to turn our thoughts toward Him throughout the day, if we train our eyes to see them.

Another beautiful lesson that really impacted me from this book was that not all pilgrims have to be strong and bold to make it to the kingdom. There are those pilgrims who are weak and faltering, but who are pilgrims heading for the kingdom nonetheless. God has a special place in His heart for these childlike ones. Amidst the stories in Pilgrim’s Progress and Christiana filled with heroes like Christian, Faithful, Hopeful, Christiana, Matthew, Mercy, and Great-Heart, it would be easy to get the impression that to be a pilgrim, one must be as bold and brave as a lion. When you first begin reading, you might begin feeling discouraged because you are one of those Christians who fights against fears, anxieties, and uncertainty. That’s where this book will offer your the most hope and encouragement if you just keep reading. You will meet Miss Fearing and Ready-to-Halt and Mr. Feeble Mind. And you will learn that sometimes those who are weakest in outward strength are strongest in inward qualities. Not only that, but the Lord has made ample provision for whomever wills to enter the kingdom of heaven. No temptation or trial is ever too much for you to bear. Those of you on the other side of the spectrum who find it easier to be courageous and strong will learn to take care that you do not judge the weaker pilgrims. Though Mr. Feeble Mind was slow to understand the deep theological discussions his companions held, he never for a minute would have harbored even the thought of turning back when facing difficulty, as some of the others would. So, whether strong in faith and virtue, or weak and childlike in spirit, you can rest assured that our merciful Lord will pave your path in accordance with your infirmities.

There were other lessons that stood out to me from this book. One is the power of prayer. While “The New Amplified Pilgrim’s Progress” emphasized the power of God’s Word, this book expounds on that by adding the power of storming the gates of heaven in prayer. Another point this book made was that when we are victorious as Christians, we can make the way easier for those who follow after us. This Christiana and her band did time and time again, and they also found parts of their path easier by learning from the mistakes of Christian and his companion who went before them. Your life will be touched and your faith grown through these and many other lessons when you read “Pilgrim’s Progress Part 2 (Christiana).”

~Sarah (Author & Educator)

www.sarahellenbrown.com

8 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Valerie Caraotta

5.0 out of 5 stars

 A journey never to be forgotten

Reviewed in the United States on August 14, 2014

Verified Purchase

Jim Pappas JR.has taken the writing of John Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress part 2 and exchanged some wording to make it reader- friendly to us today. The entire meaning has remained and within these pages are what I would term a masterpiece fictional work that cleverly displays the Christian journey. Placed in the setting of a dream, you will find the names of the individual’s characteristic of their propensities and thus learn much about heart issues.

With wife Christiana initially mocking her husband for his faith he leaves the wicked city of Destruction and goes on a pilgrimage leading to heaven’s gate. A nightmare of her killing words and eventual dream of husband in heaven will set her and her kids on a journey you will not forget. Symbolic to our lives, we must endure trials but a settled resolve to continue living for Him awaits eternal awards. John Bunyan will cement concepts of both Godly and carnal living that will demonstrate a Biblical viewpoint with excellent practical application.

Discover how God builds grace in our equation while you learn lessons, for example, from the chicken yard:

–He is there to remind us we are never alone.

–God calls us to feed upon His word

–He invites us to rest under His wings

Allow this delightful book to slowly, page by page, make your determination stronger to live for Him without compromise. Here is an excerpt of a quote I leave you with. ” Where I cannot run, I shall walk, and where I cannot walk, I shall creep. But come hell or high water, I am resolved that when I die, my body shall fall toward the city.”. I enjoyed this book and feel you will also find it delightful.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

McDonald

5.0 out of 5 stars

 I rank this right up alongside Pilgrim’s Progress. A very good book.

Reviewed in the United States on July 19, 2018

Verified Purchase

What a wonderful story and Jim Pappas has made it very readable without changing the ‘flavor’ of the text. I read it in 2 days as I kept wanting to see what was going to happen next in Christiana’s journey as well as her children’s journeys. I loved Pilgrim’s Progress and this one ranks right up there with that one in my opinion. I highly recommend this book.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Bonnie C.

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Wow !!!!!

Reviewed in the United States on April 18, 2018

Verified Purchase

Wow that book was one of the best books I have read a long time. It kept me on the edge of the chair and very action packed and so I was like right there with the characters. Very good.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Austin

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Excellent follow-up to Christians journey! Highly recommended!

Reviewed in the United States on February 12, 2013

Verified Purchase

How can one be saved? Saved from what? Do you like living your life your way? Have you found your ways to be hard? Did you know that all have sinned and have fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23). Did you know the wages of sin is death (Romans 6:23)? Would you like to know if you died today how to get into heaven?

Believe unto the Gospel “Good News” of the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and you shall be saved!” By faith ALONE that He is who He said He is: I and the Father are One (John 10:30). Jesus is God, that He died for your sins and rose again defeating death. It is by Christ ALONE one can be saved (John 14:6).

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlastinglife (John 3:16)

2 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Kim MacLennan

4.0 out of 5 stars

 Very much enjoying this edition of Christiana with my 9 …

Reviewed in the United States on February 28, 2018

Verified Purchase

Very much enjoying this edition of Christiana with my 9 year old granddaughter. We do find some of the language a little too modernized.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Darren Gabbert

5.0 out of 5 stars

 A master description of the Christian experience!

Reviewed in the United States on November 28, 2018

Verified Purchase

John Bunyan’s use of scripture is both holistic and accurate as he again depicts all the beauty and struggle and resulting victory of life in Christ.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Bonsum

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Sequel to Pilgrim’s Progress; Journey of his wife, Christiana

Reviewed in the United States on May 17, 2015

Verified Purchase

This book is a sequel to the great Christian Classic, Pilgrim’s Progress. It tells the journey of Christian’s wife, Christiana and her children. It wasn’t quite as exciting as the first book but was still interesting.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Sam Goff

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Wonderful sequal

Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2013

Verified Purchase

It is really hard to tell it was not written by John Bunyan. Jim Pappas captured the same spirit in writing tne sequal. The lessons taught here are a true reflexion of the Christian life. It is full of encouragement, especially to single moms out there who are trying to navigate the narrow way with their children. I highly recommend this for anyone, whether just entering the Way, or having travelled it for years. You WILL be blessed.

3 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Joy C

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Christiana

Reviewed in the United States on June 1, 2013

Verified Purchase

This is the easiest to read format of this story I’ve found, that still retains the original flavor of the language. A wonderful book with a wonderful message, fun to read, holds kids’ attention, but still sounds like John Bunyan!

Showing 11-20 of 22 reviews

HANS

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Great read!

Reviewed in the United States on July 16, 2019

Verified Purchase

Great for spouses to read aloud together!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Hey there!!!

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Five Stars

Reviewed in the United States on January 27, 2015

Verified Purchase

Just loved Pilgrims Progress part I. I knew that part II would not disappoint.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

deb

5.0 out of 5 stars

 highly recommend

Reviewed in the United States on August 15, 2014

Verified Purchase

This was a captivating book. Anyone who reads it will be able to see themselves in it. It brought hope, peace and joy to me.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

lennyziegler

4.0 out of 5 stars

 good sequel. i see my journey in those books

Reviewed in the United States on March 25, 2016

Verified Purchase

good sequel.i see my journey in those books.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

v

5.0 out of 5 stars

 best version i have ever found !! sequel to amplified pilgrims progress.

Reviewed in the United States on March 10, 2013

Verified Purchase

these newer versions are absolutely the best i have found. i have 5 other pilgrims progress books in various formats, both condensed and unabridged. these are so easy to read, maintains the ENTIRE story, in regular conversational english as we use it today, without sacrificing any of the message-within-message ideas.! i first got the new amplified pilgrims progress on a clearance sale – and i was so excited about it i bought 5 more for my kids and parents. it was hard to find again but AMAZON had it. anyway, i started searching to see if they had done the sequel Christiana as well, and again, AMAZON came thru. AMAZON’s been the only place i’ve found it – and i had to order more cause everyone i’d given the first one to wanted the sequel in this version as well.

6 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Sandra K. Miller

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Loved it!

Reviewed in the United States on July 1, 2011

Verified Purchase

This is an engaging story. To appreciate it one should read “Pilgrim’s Progress” first. This is part two of PP. This version is easy to read, using modern English.

One person found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

shopaholic

5.0 out of 5 stars

 An inspirational story.

Reviewed in the United States on December 6, 2013

Verified Purchase

I love this book. I read it 45 years ago when I was 12 years old and never forgot it. I just had to read it again. Glad I did.

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Brenda Golden

5.0 out of 5 stars

 a must read!

Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2013

Verified Purchase

This is a must for the serious pilgrim for Christ!!! It will help strengthen you, and is all in the Word!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

Joseph T.

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Christiana pilgrim’s progress part 2

Reviewed in the United States on June 1, 2013

Verified Purchase

It is fantastic just like book I—-timeless and impacting. you could keep reading and never get it all. thank you LORD for inspiring your servant, John Bunyan, even in prison to “write” for you in the NAME of JESUS!!!!

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

bud burns

5.0 out of 5 stars

 pilgrims progress 2 christiana

Reviewed in the United States on December 21, 2010

Verified Purchase

arived on time very good service book was read and passed on for others toread MERRY CHRISTMAS BUD

Showing 21-22 of 22 reviews

DTT

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Parts 1 & 2 by Jim Pappas is the best you can find

Reviewed in the United States on July 9, 2014

The audio production of Pilgrim’s Progress, Parts 1 & 2 by Jim Pappas is the best you can find!

I recently started listening to the Pilgrim’s Progress (PP) and Christiana’s Progress (CP) CDs again while driving to work and at night when I get home. I am enjoying them so much! I can listen to the CDs over and over and each time catch something I missed the time before. They are excellent for both children and adults. Parts 1 & 2 are unabridged and amplified. Amplified, meaning that the language the actors use is “amplified” from the Old English to the Revised Old English which maintains the respect and dignity of the era as well as the proper language usage, but is easier for a child to understand. The actors are excellent! Mr. Pappas’ wife acts in the role of Pilgrim’s wife in both parts 1 & 2 and she does an excellent job.

** Can you tell I have given this review a lot of though and have done my research? 😎 **

The words that come to my mind when I describe the acting as well as the light background music of the audio production are sweet, innocent, and pure.

I have purchased several sets of the Pilgrim’s Progress CDs parts 1 & 2, and the illustrated Pilgrim’s Progress book by Pappas and have given them as gifts. Everyone has loved them. The illustrated book is beautiful!

You will be blessed with this audio version of Pilgrim’s Progress and Christiana’s Progress.

4 people found this helpful

Helpful

Comment Report abuse

John Mathews Baxter

5.0 out of 5 stars

 Wonderful book!

Reviewed in the United States on February 7, 2011

I recommend this book. It updates and simplifies Bunyan’s style, while adding some contemporary metaphors (check out the glowing one-eyed blue monster). A delightful version of all-time classic.

One person found this helpful